The first service held for what was to become Gloria Dei Lutheran Church of Williston took place August 14, 1960, in the chapel of the Sletten Funeral Home. The Rev. John R. Lingen, pastor of Grace Lutheran Church in Wildrose, was called and came to serve Gloria Dei. A steering committee made up of Oliver Bekkedahl Jr., O.C. Benson, Lester Stillwell, and Dr. Dean Strinden assisted by Pastor Lingen, began the preliminary work that resulted in the organizing of the congregation. An orientation meeting was held on November 15, 1960, and the official organizational meeting took place on December 7th of that year.  The first elected officers were: Lester Stillwell, president; Dr. Dean Strinden, vice-president; Edgar Mark, secretary; and Ray Tangwall, treasurer.
In February of 1965 and after serving five years, Pastor Lingen accepted a call to Brooklyn Center, MN.  A call from Gloria Dei was extended to Rev. John E. Swensen who accepted and came to serve as the congregation’s pastor in July of 1965. In April 1975, Pastor Swensen accepted a call to serve First Lutheran Church at Bottineau, ND.  After a summer without regular pastoral care, a call was sent to and accepted by Pastor Lowell Swantz of Edmore, MI. He was installed by Stanley Knutson, assistant to the Bishop of the Western ND District on October 5, 1975.
Following committee work regarding staff needs, a call committee was appointed to begin the search for and call to a second pastor to serve the congregation. Darryl Landsverk of Ft. Dodge, IA, was called, ordained, and installed in his pastoral position at services held on July 11, 1982. In May of 1986, Pastor Swantz resigned from his ministry at Gloria Dei. Pastor Peter H. A. Humlie accepted an interim call in September of 1986 until July 1987. A call was extended to Pastor Markwart who accepted and was installed as Senior Pastor on August 9, 1987, by Bishop Marvin Schumacher. In February 1987, Pastor Darryl Landsverk accepted a call to New England, ND. Gloria Dei extended a call to Pastor Greg Schram.  Pastor Greg accepted the call in April 1988, and was installed on July 17th by Ron Gladden, Assistant to the Bishop.
At the annual meeting in 1990, a motion was made and passed to change from the American Lutheran Church to the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America and to change all district references to synod. 
Pastor Schram accepted a call to Northwood, ND, in November 1991. A call was extended to Pastor April Peterson, and she began her ministry with us in September 1992. In early January of 1994, Pastor Markwart accepted a call to Beulah, ND. A co-pastor concept was initiated by the congregation, and a call was extended to Pastor Tom Anderson from Nashua, MT. He arrived on August 15, 1994.
Gloria Dei started a new venture in August 1999, with a satellite association with Faith Lutheran Church north of Williston. The association has been a blessing and has enriched the life of our church.
Pastor Anderson accepted a call to Tyler, TX, in January 1999. A call was extended to Pastor Lee Herberg from Litchville, ND. He arrived in December 1999 and was installed on January 16, 2000.
The years 2000-2010 brought many changes to Gloria Dei Lutheran Church.  A new Constitution was approved at the Annual Meeting January 21, 2001. A Special Congregational Meeting held August 12, 2001, provided Gloria Dei with a new Mission Statement, "Gathering to Grow” to the Glory of God."
Pastor Lee Herberg accepted a call to First Lutheran Church in Mandan, ND, in 2007. 

Pastor David and Lorna Halaas were welcomed to Gloria Dei in September of 2008. Pastor David Halaas was installed by Bishop Mark Narum. Pastor Lorna Halaas was ordained by Bishop Narum on May 4, 2009 and became part time Pastor at Gloria Dei.

Pastor Sue Seiffert arrived August of 2010 as Gloria Dei's Intentional Interim Minister. Pastor Sue Sieffert served at Gloria Dei until August 10, 2012 and then accepted a call to Oregon.

Pastor Kay Reeb joined Gloria Dei in October 2013 as the Senior Pastor.  Pastor Jim Reeb came in as the Assistant Pastor in July 2014. Pastor Kay and Pastor Jim Reeb retired in August of 2015.

In October 2015, Pastor David Maxfield came to Gloria Dei as an Interim. He was called to serve as the Administrative Pastor and was installed on October 16, 2016.